Deakin University

Play episode
City of Deams podcast series with Barry Stoneham

Founded in 1974, Deakin University was named after Alfred Deakin, the second Prime Minister of Australia. It was Victoria’s fourth university, the first in regional Victoria and It has 4 main campuses with two of them located right here in the Geelong region at Waurn Ponds and the Geelong Waterfront.

As of 2021, Deakin is ranked among the top 1% of universities in the world and it is right on our doorstep, providing education, innovation, research and development with a strong community involvement

City of Dreams caught up with the Vice Chancellor, Professor Iain Martin, to discuss what Deakin brings to this great region over the past 47 years.

Join the discussion

More from this show


Recent posts

Episode 21